by Matthew Jacobson Changes to the Maine minimum wage law taking effect January 1 mean that the minimum wage for tipped workers will continue to be $5 an hour instead of rising $1 an hour like the minimum wage for workers who don’t receive tips. Maine voters approved Question 4 on the 2016 ballot. The […]
Tag: tipped employees
Two recent decisions from the U.S. 10th Circuit Court of Appeals—which covers Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming—provide new guidance for employers with tipped employees.
by Jim Reidy A New Hampshire law set to take effect September 3 makes clear that employees who receive tips may pool their tips and share them with coworkers who don’t receive tips. For example, restaurant servers will be free to share tips with hosts and hostesses. Even though Senate Bill 37, which was signed […]
In a recent decision, Florida Federal District Judge James Moody upheld the U.S. Department of Labor’s (DOL) rule that a tipped employee may be paid a direct wage that is less than the Florida minimum wage of $8.10 per hour only if he spends no more than 20% of his time on duties that do […]
Most employers in Chicago and Cook County will be required to offer paid sick leave beginning July 1. The city of Chicago passed a sick leave ordinance last summer, and Cook County (where Chicago is located) passed a nearly identical law in October. The ordinances apply to all businesses that are located in the city […]
In this article series, we provide a refresher on the basics of the Fair Labor Standard Act’s (FLSA’s) requirements. In our previous article, we discussed the FLSA’s minimum wage requirements applied to tipped employees and piece-rate workers. Here we discuss how they impact employees paid on a commission basis and payroll deductions.
In this article series, we provide a refresher on the basics of the Fair Labor Standard Act’s (FLSA’s) requirements. In our previous article, we explained FLSA’s minimum wage provisions and a few exemptions. In this article, we discuss how they apply to tipped employees and piece-rate workers.
In this article series, we provide a refresher on the basics of the Fair Labor Standard Act’s (FLSA’s) requirements. In this article, we will review minimum wage provisions under the law. We’ll also explain the exemptions from providing the minimum wage.
Question: We have exempt employees who manage our catering division and sometimes get tips from customers. How do we declare tips for them?
If your business employs workers who receive tips as part of their compensation, such as waitstaff, bartenders, or delivery drivers (e.g., pizza delivery drivers), a separate set of rules governs how you compensate them.