Within days, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing is expected to release draft regulations concerning A.B. 1825, the law requiring employers with 50 or more employees to provide supervisors with two hours of harassment training every two years. The draft regulations, prepared by a Blue Ribbon Advisory Committee appointed by the Fair Employment and Housing Commission, will be available on the FEHC’s website and open for public comment for 45 days after the release.
The proposed rules should help clarify some aspects of A.B. 1825, including: whether employees outside California can be counted in determining whether an employer meets the 50-employee threshold for coverage under the law; what types of electronic, non-classroom training are permitted; the specific qualifications trainers must have; and more.
We’ll have a full report on the draft rules in an upcoming issue of the California Employer Advisor.
Join us this fall in San Francisco for the California Employment Law Update conference, a 3-day event that will teach you everything you need to know about new laws and regulations, and your compliance obligations, for the year ahead—it’s one-stop shopping at its best.