As we head into the last week of 2006, employers that haven’t done so already must take quick steps to ensure they’ll be ready to comply with the new California minimum wage come January 1.
Make sure that all nonexempt employees are receiving, at least, the new minimum wage of $7.50 per hour. And check to see that employees who qualify for overtime exemption are receiving a minimum salary of $2,340/month (based on the requirement that they earn a salary of at least two times the minimum wage for full-time employment).
The HR Management & Compliance Report: How To Comply with California Wage & Hour Law, explains everything you need to know to stay in compliance with the state’s complex and ever-changing rules, laws, and regulations in this area. Coverage on bonuses, meal and rest breaks, overtime, alternative workweeks, final paychecks, and more.
Also, the new Wage Orders reflecting the minimum wage hike are available. Make sure you have yours posted in the workplace by the new year. The posters (MW-2007 and industry/occupation-specific Wage Orders) are available for download on the California Industrial Welfare Commission’s website.
Wage and Hour: Minimum Wage Going Up in California; What Employers Must Know, California Employer Advisor October 2006 article