HR Management & Compliance

Nebraska: Lone Democrat (Not on Ballot) Remains

by Mark Schorr, Erickson & Sederstrom P.C.

Nebraska saw no significant changes as a result of its 2010 elections. All three Republicans in the U.S. House were reelected, with the closest margin of victory being a spread of 62 percent to 38 percent. Republican Governor Dave Heineman also was reelected with a resounding 78 percent of the vote.

The only Democrat remaining in the state’s Washington delegation is Ben Nelson — that’s right, the Ben Nelson of Cornhusker kickback fame and the final 60th Senate vote that sent ObamaCare to its final consideration. If Nelson runs for reelection in two years, look for a strong challenge and a revisiting of that issue.

Democrat Tom White, who voiced his support of ObamaCare and who many thought would mount a stiff challenge to incumbent Republican Lee Terry in Nebraska’s Omaha-dominated Second Congressional District (which voted for President Obama in 2008), went down in flames with only 38 percent of the vote. Terry’s win was his largest victory margin in six years.

Mark Schorr is editor of Nebraska Employment Law Letter and a partner with Erickson & Sederstrom P.C., LLO, in Lincoln. He can be reached at (402) 476-1000.