Last month, the Industrial Welfare Commission rejected a labor-backed petition to increase the state minimum wage, currently at $6.75 per hour. The California Labor Federation reintroduced the petition for IWC consideration at a February 21, 2003 public meeting. But the IWC has once again rejected the petition.
Tag: Wage Orders
When January 1, 2000, rolls around, most California employers will have to pay overtime after eight hours in a day under the new daily overtime law. But adopting an alternative workweek schedule can help you avoid many daily overtime obligations so long as you follow the procedures set out in the new law. If you […]
We recently reported on California’s plan to amend the wage rules to drop the requirement of paying overtime after eight hours in a day, in favor of the federal law that requires overtime pay only after 40 hours in a week. However, some other changes are also in the works. Here’s what you should know.