HR Management & Compliance

California And Six Other States Adjusting The Minimum Wage

On Jan. 1, 2008, California’s minimum
wage will rise to $8.00 per hour from the 2007 level of $7.50. Note that this
rate increase affects not only hourly, nonexempt workers but also salaried,
white-collar exempt employees. As of the first of the year, the minimum monthly
salary for these exempt employees will jump to $2,773.33 (or $33,280 a year).
The rate increase may also affect employees who qualify for California’s commissioned sales exemption.
These employees must earn at least 1
1/2 times more than the state minimum wage for every hour worked in a
week. Thus, effective January 1, they must earn at least $12.00 per hour.


In addition, six states
that make annual minimum wage adjustments based on inflation have announced new
rates effective January 1 as follows: Arizona’s minimum wage will rise from
$6.75 to $6.90 per hour; Missouri’s minimum wage will increase from $6.50 to $6.65
per hour; Montana workers will get a raise from $6.15 per hour to $6.25 per
hour; the Ohio minimum wage will increase from $6.85 per hour to $7.00 per  hour; Oregon’s minimum wage will go from
$7.80 per hour to $7.95 per hour; and in Washington, the minimum wage will
increase by 14 cents to $8.07. Four other states—Colorado, Florida, Nevada, and
Vermont—also make annual adjustments to their minimum wages for inflation but
had not announced their adjustments at the time we went to press. For more
information, go to


The HR Management & Compliance Report: How To Comply with California Wage & Hour Law, explains everything you need to know to stay in compliance with the state’s complex and ever-changing rules, laws, and regulations in this area. Coverage on bonuses, meal and rest breaks, overtime, alternative workweeks, final paychecks, and more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *